Cambodia Investment Review

Rath Sophoan Elected as Chairman At the Association of Banks in Cambodia’s Annual General Meeting For 2024/25 Term

Rath Sophoan Elected as Chairman At the Association of Banks in Cambodia’s Annual General Meeting For 2024/25 Term

Cambodia Investment Review

The Association of Banks in Cambodia (ABC) has announced a new chapter in its leadership following the Annual General Meeting on the 28th March 2024, where the new council members for the 2024/25 term were elected. This significant event was not just a moment for transition but also a testament to the continuous effort in driving the Cambodian banking sector towards excellence.

Mr. Raymond Sia, the outgoing Chairman, extended heartfelt gratitude towards his colleagues and the Secretariat Team for their dedication and service. This acknowledgment highlights the collective journey of advancing the interests and integrity of the banking community in Cambodia.

Rath Sophoan Ambitious Vision Anchored In Four Key Pillars

The newly appointed Chairman, Mr. Rath Sophoan of Maybank (Cambodia) Plc., in his inaugural address, expressed his gratitude towards the outgoing leadership for their solid stewardship. He warmly congratulated his peers on their election and shared his honour and privilege in leading the association.

Mr. Rath Sophoan of Maybank (Cambodia) Plc

Mr. Sophoan outlined an ambitious vision for his term, anchored in four key pillars: establishing a well-defined governance structure; advocating for responsible, values-based banking; fostering continuous learning and excellence among bankers; and building a collaborative ecosystem to bolster the banking sector’s contribution to national economic prosperity.

Under Mr. Sophoan’s leadership as Chairman, the ABC welcomes the following members to its council for the term 2024/25:

  1. Chairman: Mr. Rath Sophoan, CEO of Maybank (Cambodia) Plc.
  2. Vice-Chairman: Mr. Raymond Sia Say Guan, CEO of Canadia Bank Plc.
  3. Treasurer: Mr. Han Peng Kwang, CEO of Wing Bank (Cambodia) Plc.
  4. Council Members:
    • Mrs. Mar Amara, PGMD of ACLEDA Bank Plc.
    • Mr. Zhiger Atchabarov, COO of ABA Bank
    • Mr. Ong Ming Teck, CEO of Cambodian Public Bank Plc. (CAMPU Bank)
    • Mr. Toch Chaochek, CEO of Cambodia Post Bank Plc. (CP Bank)
    • Mr. Dith Sochal, CEO of Foreign Trade Bank of Cambodia (FTB)
    • Mr. Pen Makara, CEO of Angkor Capital Specialized Bank (ACSB)
    • Mrs. Dith Nita, Chairperson of Cambodia Microfinance Association (CMA)
    • Mr. Remi Pell Sisophon, Chairman of Cambodian Association of Finance & Technology
    • Mr. Kea Borann, CEO of AMK MFI Plc., representing Microfinance Deposit-taking Institutions (MDIs)

Rath Sophoan & Board Has A Broad Spectrum Of Expertise & Insights

This diverse and experienced group of leaders brings together a broad spectrum of expertise and insights, poised to navigate the challenges and seize the opportunities that lie ahead for Cambodia’s banking sector.

The Association of Banks in Cambodia, as a professional and non-profit local association, continues its mission to promote the development of the Cambodian financial system and protect the interests of its members. Through close cooperation with both local and international bodies, the ABC serves as a vital communication channel, fostering development and advocating for the banking community’s role in sustainable economic growth.

The strategic vision laid out by Chairman Sophoan, emphasizing governance, responsibility, learning, and collaboration, sets a clear direction for the association. It underscores the commitment to not only enhancing the banking sector’s capacity but also its contribution to the broader economic landscape of Cambodia, ensuring the industry’s growth is both inclusive and sustainable.

Related Articles